Bipolar 2 Disorder

Bipolar type one and type two are two similar disorders. Type two is often referred to as (at least in my experience) the milder form of bipolar type one.

It was the summer of 2016 when I finally decided to take charge of my physical and mental health. I began seeing a therapist (this was my second attempt to do so) during that summer, and I also began seeing a psychiatrist. Currently, I see a therapist, psychiatrist, and I’m involved in a group. Recently I’ve been considering joining a DBSA (Depression Bipolar Support Alliance) group but I’ll save that for a post at some point. It was during my second meeting with my psychiatrist that she told me I might have Bipolar Type Two. Quite frankly this didn’t come as a shock to me, as I already knew a bit about the disorder as my dad suffers from Bipolar Type One. These disorders are thought to have some genetic factors – which explains me.

Let me give you a brief overview of Bipolar Type One. It’s comprised of Depressive and Manic states of being. Mania is an episode of manic, characterized by high energy, being highly distracted, impulsiveness, irrationality, etc and often disrupts daily activities.

What’s different about Bipolar Type Two is that it’s comprised of Depression and Hypomania. Hypomania is similar to mania, but less intense. It’s usually characterized by similar tendencies. For me it’s a lot of risk taking, spending money I don’t have, grandiosity, over confidence, fleeting thoughts, lack of need for sleep, and sex. I have to be honest with you, I love hypomania. Feeling on top of the world is wonderful. And compared to the depressive states I’d take hypomania any day. What I don’t like about hypomania is dealing with the consequences later. For example, hating the impulsive tattoos I’ve gotten. The holes in my face and body from when I irrationally ran to the shop to get piercings (I’ve had 17!). Regretting one night stands. Paying off my credit cards for months because I went on a spending spree. Yada yada yada. What’s good about having the “milder form” of bipolar disorder is that hypomania usually doesn’t interfere with life. We can go about our days, we can mend our mistakes, and keep our jobs. It doesn’t last long either, at lease for me. What’s bad about having this form of bipolar disorder is the immense amount of time we spend in the other state – depression.
Bipolar Type Two patients generally have more depressive episodes than hypomanic. Now that doesn’t go for everyone and I am in no way a psychiatrist, but it certainly resonated with me. This state can last for days months or years. When I’m in it, I try to go numb. I feel empty. My body feels heavy. My chest feels tight. I get frequent headaches. Some other symptoms are

  • Hypersomnia 
  • Diminished pleasure
  • Fatigue
  • Indecisiveness
  • Reoccurred thoughts of death
  • Irrational guilt
  • Irritability

During the Depressive states I feel like a walking zombie. It’s written all over my face that I’m not okay. I blame “tiredness” for my actions. Many people think I’m just mean or non responsive. I’m just easily irritable. Really I’m just fighting monsters within my mind and trying to make it to the next day. It’s during these periods when my life is interrupted. Maybe I call into work, or cancel plans. Maybe I skip my homework and binge watch something on Netflix to avoid real life. Perhaps I’m on the floor staring at a wall and ignoring the people who love me the most. I’m pushing them away, as well as pushing all feelings away. During this period I can’t fathom explaining to someone what’s wrong. The words don’t come out and my body screams “you need help” but nothing will ever escape my lips. Depressive states are hell on earth. It feels like a never ending void. I can feel when I’m falling into them, sometimes I fight it but mostly I let it sweep me under the water and I wait for a chance to breathe again. Once I’m out, I finally feel free but only temporarily. Because I know it will come back for me soon enough. Until then I enjoy feeling normal, and I often wonder,

“when will I win the battle for good?”

Medication for Bipolar Disorder is tricky. For me, and anti depressant would be nice because most of my time is spent feeling down. However, with bipolar disorder it’s unlikely anyone will prescribe you that unless you’re on a mood stabilizer. This is because anti depressant can help your depression, but also increase the risk of hypomania or mania. My psychiatrist described it as spraining an ankle, once you do it it’ll be easier to sprain it again in the future. Thus, the more often I experience hypomania the more like I will experience it again and the more likely it will be for hypomania to turn into mania. Thus, no anti depressants for me. I’ve gone through 5 medications all with unwelcoming side effects. As of now, I don’t take anything – I’m just trying to manage with therapy, mindfulness, diet and exercise.

Bipolar Type Two will always be a part of me and my life. The trick is figuring out how to live in harmony with this illness. I think I can do it.

Leave a Reply

